Trending Global: Stay Updated with the Latest Trends Worldwide

Your Gateway to Global Trends, News, and Insights

Electoral Commission

The Electoral Commission will cancel the registration of 17 political parties

Share Post

Ghana’s Electoral Commission has given 17 dormant political parties until Thursday, October 21 to prove they have offices in all regions and districts across the country or lose their registration.

EC President Jean Mensa
According to the commission, it conducted a nationwide inspection of the offices of all registered political parties from May 16, 2022 to June 9, 2022 and found that some of them do not have a national character as required by law.

READ ALSO: Gsssb Bin Sachivalay Syllabus Study Material Pdf 2022

The Political Parties Act of 2000 directs the EC to deregister parties that do not have representation in all districts and regions of Ghana.
In an announcement published on Thursday, October 13, 2022, the commission said it had decided to crack the whip this time.

“The Commission intends to refer to § 15 paragraph 3 letter c) of the Political Parties Act of 2000, Act 574, which directs it to cancel the registration of political parties that do not have offices at the national and regional levels.
“In this regard, the following political parties are hereby requested to provide reasons in writing to the Election Commission as to why their registration should not be cancelled,” reads part of the notice.
Currently, 27 political parties are registered with the Electoral Commission.
Below is a list of affected parties:

1.Democratic People’s Party (DPP)

2.United Development System Party (UDSP)
3.Every Ghanaian Living Everywhere (EGLE)
4.Yes People’s Party (YPP)
5.United Ghana Movement (UGM)
6.New Vision Party (NVP)
7.Ghana Democratic Republican Party (GDRP)
8.Ghana National Party (GNP)
9.Power Unity Party (PUP)
10.People’s Action Party (PAP)
11.United Renaissance Party (URP)
12.United Love Party (ULP)
13.Democratic Freedom Party (DFP)
14.Reform Patriotic Democrats (RPD)
15.United Front Party (UFP)
16.United Progressive Party (UPP)
17.National Reform Party (NRP)

Share Post
Verified by MonsterInsights